burlap lampshade

I love Pottery Barn’s burlap lampshade, but not for $49 (that’s on sale!) In my best attempt to recreate the lampshade, I started off with an old lampshade and 1/2 off burlap for $2 a yard.

I cut the burlap to fit around the shade and added 1-2 inches to each side for folding over. I used hot glue to attach the edges and then to fold the ends inside the lampshade. I decided to do two layers, but that might not be necessary for a plain colored lampshade. For the seam, I added a separate strip of fabric over the two layers and glued the edges to the inside of the shade. I added a ribbon that will match our bookshelf, and saved about $47!

    

Let me know what you think!

