Stencil Pillow

I found this tutorial on tumblr a while ago and finally gave it a try. One of my biggest pet peeves is how EXPENSIVE pillows are; they’re two pieces of fabric sewn together! With left over fabric, a fabric marker, and a little thread, this pillow cost me close to nothing.

The first step is drawing on the quote of your choice. The only tricky thing is making sure to space out the letters how you want them. I started with an extra big piece of fabric so that I had plenty of room for all of the words.

After that, just sew it up like a regular pillow (turn inside out, pin, sew three and a half sides, turn to the right side, stuff, and hand stitch the last half!) After about 30 minutes here is my final product:

Update: Here is another one I’ve made recently. I’m loving the look without filling in the spaces of the letters on my stencil.

4 thoughts on “Stencil Pillow

  1. I love this! What type of fabric pen do you use and what is the cost? Also, do you have to wash and/or press the fabric in advance? Thanks! Keep up the good work! :)

    • Hi Megan! I’ve used the three or four kinds of fabric pens sold at Hobby Lobby and they all work well. I did not wash the pillow in advance, but it does help to press. Hope this helps. :)

Let me know what you think!

